The Journey Has Begun

A hand full of friends and our family know that we have begun the process of adopting from China.

Families are built through adoption for many reasons. Some families have planned to adopt for many years. Our experience has been very different so here’s a glimpse into how we got here and where we are in the adoption process.

Greg and I got married in 2006 and planned to have a family at some point.  In 2010 our Little Man was born.  In 2013 our Little Bug was born.  (I’m not a blogger and this may simply be a few posts to document our adoption experience for friends and family, but to protect my kiddos I’m going to use nicknames.)  If you know Greg very well you know that he wanted two kids.  Two was enough.  And after two rough pregnancies, two kiddos were enough for me.  However, deep in my heart I felt God had another child for us.  I was content with our family of four but my occasional prayer was, “God, if you have another child planned for us you will have to change Greg’s heart and perform a miracle.”

Our two boys have been a blessing and we have been content growing as a family of four.  But, sometime in April 2015 God began planting a seed in my heart that he had given us so much and there were children and families in desperate need.  I had no idea what God was asking of us but had a burden on my heart that I could not escape.  I prayed over it for several weeks, never mentioning a word to Greg.  I had no idea what it meant.

In May 2015, Greg and I spent a weekend in Washington D.C.  We were taking about our future and talking about our boys and I casually mentioned, “So, we’re done?”

I fully expected him to say, “Yes.”

But, he didn’t.  I believe his words were “I don’t know.”

My immediate thought was “Are you kidding?  Who is this person and what have you done with my husband.”

Greg only wanted two kids.  Period.

I asked if he had ever considered adoption.  We had never discussed it.  He said, “Yes.”

Wait, what?

“You mean you’ve thought about other people adopting or us adopting?”

“Us adopting.”

I was stunned.  Conversation ends.

I prayed for several days before bringing it up again.  We began talking about it one night and we began to realize God had placed a burden on both of our hearts.  There were children in need of forever families.  We weren’t sure if we should consider domestic adoption or international but we started to research.  The more we talked with people and researched our hearts broke for children that need families both here in the US and abroad.  We discussed over and over what adoption would mean for our family, how it would change the vision we always had of a family of four.  Ultimately, we decided to pursue an adoption from China.  I could go on and on about the circumstances in China but I won’t here.  If you talk to me in person you’ll probably hear all about it.

On July 11, 2015, we submitted our application to the agency we had chosen.  Over the last two months it has been a whirlwind gathering mounds of paperwork.  We each had to fill out a 20-page document about our history, our family, our discipline methods, our community, etc, in addition to fingerprints for background checks, medical checks and much more.

We had our first meeting with a social worker on September 3 and are working to complete a home study.

Everything is moving very quickly, more quickly than we anticipated. But throughout the process God has continued to confirm this direction.

We will keep you updated as we continue to move closer to our adoption.

IMG_3657

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Journey Has Begun

  1. Michele says:

    I am so excited for you, Greg and the boys!! This is incredible -but then again that’s how our God is!!! I will be praying for you all-His continued peace, His continued wisdom and His continued provision for all that you will need!! You guys will be an awesome “forever” family and such a blessing to your new child-what an amazing opportunity and blessing for you all!! I’m not sure if there is some sort of network or support of others who adopted from China in Kansas City area, but there is a family that was in our CC group last year that adopted a little girl from China with the last name of Bartolic if you want me to pass along their info to you guys. I can’t wait to see the updates-know that we will be praying from here in Waco Texas!! Lots of love to all of you-we miss you all!! In Him, Michele

    Like

Leave a Reply

