LOA Arrived!

Our Letter of Acceptance finally arrived from China! (Happy dance over at the Chapman household.) The letter is sent directly to our agency so I have been anxiously awaiting a phone call. Every time my cell phone rang I checked to see if it said Eugune, OR (the home office of our agency.) If I was upstairs and I heard it ringing, I’d go flying down the stairs to see if it was them. I don’t think I’ve ever prayed so intently over anything. It has been nearly two months since we first saw a picture of our little girl, two months!!! We were getting a little discouraged but God kept reminding me in little ways that He is in control.

We have been anxiously awaiting a single piece of paper so we can move forward in the process of bringing her home. We can now send in our immigration application.   Application makes it sound like a piece of paper, when actually it’s this:

Immigration PapersEverything we know about our little girl, where she will be residing once she arrives in the U.S, and the training we’ve completed.

We still don’t know exactly when we will travel.  Just to give you a glimpse into the process here are the next steps, which can take a few months.

  • Send I-800 application
  • Receive I-800 approval within 3-4 weeks
  • Wait for the National Visa Center to confirm they have notified the U.S. Consulate in Guangzhou
  • Apply for immigration visa (DS-260)
  • Consulate issues Article 5 notice to request travel approval from China
  • China issues travel approval
  • Set travel dates
  • Go to China!!!

There are so many acronyms, applications and approvals that it can be overwhelming. But, we are one step closer to meeting our little girl!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to LOA Arrived!

  1. Jill Fitts says:

    Oh wow, with each day comes one step closer. Still praying for the outcome..

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

