For This Child I Have Prayed

When I was pregnant with our Little Man in 2010 we chose two names before he was born not knowing if we were having a boy or a girl.

In 2013, Emily was still the name of choice for a girl though coming up with another boy’s name was much harder. Before having our sonogram, my prayer to the Lord was to give me peace and contentment no matter what He had in store for our family because He ultimately knew what was best. I prayed that over and over and I was at peace with a family of four with two boys. Two brothers is an awesome blessing! I love that they have each other. I was truly content with what God had for us.

However, in November 2013, God began to lay on my heart that the name Emily wasn’t just a name we had chosen but the name of a real little girl. He impressed it so strongly on my heart that I wrote it in my prayer journal on November 7, 2013. I told Greg about it but I’m pretty sure he laughed. We were not having more kids.

I began to pray for this little girl and told God He would need to do a series of miracles, including changing Greg’s heart about having a third child.

I continued to pray for this little girl throughout 2014. But, since we weren’t having more children I thought maybe God had impressed on my heart the name of one of the boy’s future wife. Although that seemed a little weird, I had no other logical explanation for praying for a little girl named Emily.

As we entered 2015, I continued to pray for her but we still had no plans to have another child. It wasn’t until April 2015 that God began to impress this verse on my heart.

Luke 12:48b- When someone has been given much, much will be required in return; and when someone has been entrusted with much, even more will be required.

I had no idea what God was expecting of us but I began to pray over that verse. I kept asking if we were supposed to be giving more, giving to a specific charity, or perhaps serving in a specific way. It wasn’t until Mother’s Day weekend in 2015 that Greg and I began to have a conversation about adoption. Perhaps God was calling us to bring another child into our family, a child we would name Emily.

I began praying for Emily November 7, 2013, just two months before this precious girl was born in January 2014.

Emily May 2016-3

Today, May 11, 2016, marks the day two years ago that she was found abandoned and taken to the orphanage where she currently lives. And today, we board an airplane headed for her home country to adopt her into our family.

1 Samuel 1:27 – For this child I prayed, and the Lord has granted me my petition which I asked of Him.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to For This Child I Have Prayed

  1. Bob says:

    What a wonderful story about how God works miracles in our lives. Thanks for sharing as encouragement to our lives.

    Like

  2. Laurie says:

    This brought me to tears! God is so good! I can’t wait until she is in your arms.

    Like

Leave a Reply

